BRIELLE POLICE DEPARTMENT

Historical Highlights 1919 - 2019

Pre-1919	Police protection came from the Sheriff of Monmouth County stationed in Freehold	
1919	Upon Brielle's incorporation, J. Wellington Pearce was appointed Borough Marshall	
1924	Shem B. Pearce was appointed Chief of Police without pay in 1924 and George W. Legg likewise in 1926	
1929	Chief Legg was authorized to purchase a revolver and handcuffs and \$600 for a police car in 1929	
1933	Chief Legg became the first paid chief in 1933; the force consisted of Chief Legg and one patrolman	
1934	Chief Legg was made a full-time chief	
1941	A fire occurred at police headquarters destroying records and equipment and caused \$4,000 in damages	
1955	A second police car was placed into service	
1964	Chief Legg retires; the force had grown to include seven police officers	
1964	Patrolman Kenney, later to become Chief of Police in 1985, joins the Brielle police force as its first black member	

CHIEFS 1919-2019

Dates	Name	Badge #
1919-1920 (Est)	J. Wellington Pearce	(A)
1920 - 1922 (Est)	Frank Pettit	(A)
1923	John Rankin	N/A
1924 - 1926	Shem Bartley Pearce	N/A
1926 - 1964	George W. Legg	1
1964 - 1974	John P. Van Kirk	100
1974 - 1982	Thomas R. Flanagan	(B)
1982 - 1985	Arthur G. Brandau	101
1985 - 1989	Alfred O. Kenney	104
1989 - 1994	Harry M. Whalen	111
1995 - 2018	Michael W. Palmer	141
2019 to Present	Gary J. Olsen	154
(A) Borough Marshall		
(B) Public Safety Director		