BRIELLE FIRE COMPANY #1

Historical Highlights 1910 - 2019

1910

Brielle Chemical Company #1 organized June 13, 1910 as part of Wall Fire District #2.

Early meetings were held in the Post Office in the Union House.

Initial membership was 11 charter men. Albert Ellis, President, Shem Bartley Pearce, Chief

Initiation fee was \$1.00 and initial dues were .10 per month. At the end of the first full year, 1911, the bank balance was \$6.99

Bennett's barn next to the Fire House housed the horses.

The fire engine was a horse/hand drawn apparatus with two mounted 45-gallon chemical tanks

1914

A Faiette automobile was purchased to replace the horse-drawn fire engine. The chemical tanks were mounted on the car.

1916

After the Faiette brown down, a Dodge truck was purchased. A Model T was also purchased as a backup.

1919+

Following Brielle's separation from Wall, the Fire Company was renamed the Brielle Fire Company #1. Alterations were made to the Fire House including a Town Council Chamber on the second floor. Space was allotted on the first floor for the Police Department, including a jail cell with metal bars.

During the early years, the company responded to fires from South Amboy to Waretown.

1927

A major alteration was made to the Fire House to add the East side addition.

1941

A west side addition was added to the building.

1976

A large two-story addition was completed with two bays to accommodate four vehicles and a meeting/banquet hall on the second floor.

2010

Brielle Fire Company celebrated its 100th Anniversary.

CHIEFS 1910-2019

NAME	YEAR	Name	Year
S. Bartley Pearce	1910-1913	Charles Underhill	1960
Mornant Longstreet	1914-1915	Ted Miller	1961
Wheaton Pearce	1916	Tom Clayton	1962-1963
Ralph T. Pearce	1917	Fred Marrone	1964-1965
Howard N. Folk	1918-1919	Bob Sauer	1966-1967
Myron C. Pearce	1920	Martin San Gia Como	1968
Wheaton Pearce	1921-1924	Jack Woolley	1969-1970
Shem Pearce	1925-1927	Henry Benkert	1971
George W. Legg	1928-1929	Leroy McGreevey	1972
Frank Pettit	1930-1931	Leroy McGreevey	1973-1974
Granden Pearce	1932	David Laird	1975-1976
Shem Pearce	1933	Burnett H. Cain	1977-1978
Ernest Stires	1934	Edward Convery	1979-1980
Gurnsey Day	1935	Michael F. Sullivan	1981-1982
Edward Stires	1936	Burnett H. Cain	1983
Leslie Knight	1937-1938	James F. Langenberger	1984-1985
Jack Folk	1939	Thomas J. Dinyovszky	1986-1987
Harry Sauer	1940-1941	Joseph E. Roppoli	1988-1989
Willard Van Sickle	1942-1943	Stephen Speicher	1990-1991
Leslie Knight	1944-1945	Kris Hauge	1992-1993
Jack Groz	1946-1947	Tony Scarano	1994
Wesley Leahder	1948-1949	Skip Clayton	1995
Milton Gifford	1950	James F. Langenberger	1996-1997
Charles Neilson	1951	Timothy Shaak	1998-2001
William Thiel	1952	Steve Speicher	2002-2003
Harley Voorhees	1953	Joe Harriman	2004
Ira Grey	1954-1955	Timothy Shaak	2005-2008
Alex Walker	1956	Michael Johnston Jr.	2009-2011
Mel Underhill	1957	Rod Zarelli	2012-2015
Ray Hageman	1958	Scott Callahan	2016 - 2019
Ed Lopus	1959		